City of Newark Logo
9/24/2021 11:04AM
Page Spacer

Law Director



40 West Main Street, 4th Floor
Newark Ohio 43055
740-670-7880 (Tel.)
740-349-6838 (Fax) 

Administrative Staff

Cindy Campbell, Administrative Assistant
Casey Osborne
Brooke Thieken
Marcia Shaffer

Civil Division                                                                      

Douglas E. Sassen
Caroline Clippinger  

Criminal Division 

Amy S. Davison
Tricia Moore
J. Michael King 

Victim-Witness Services  

Sarah Ley
Margaret Van Balen 












Douglas E. Sassen, Director of Law

Law Director Douglas Sassen is a 1986 graduate of the
Ohio State University College of Law, and 1982 graduate
of the Ohio State University College of Agriculture. 
Sassen previously served as Chief Magistrate of
the Licking
County Juvenile-Probate Court and as an
Assistant Law
Director for the City of Newark.


Civil Division

The Civil Division serves as the legal advisor to, and representative of, all departments and divisions within Newark City government including the Mayor, City Directors, Council, and various Boards and Commissions.  This includes (but is not limited to) drafting and reviewing legislation, contracts, and other essential legal documents, and ensuring compliance with all applicable procedural and substantive legal authority. 

Criminal Division

The Criminal Division provides misdemeanor, criminal, and traffic prosecution services on behalf of the following entities: City of Newark, City of Heath, City of Pataskala, Village of Granville, City of Reynoldsburg (Licking County) and Licking County (unincorporated areas).

Victim-Witness Services

Victim-Witness Services provide a full array of support services for victims of crime under the jurisdiction of the Office of the Director of Law, as well as supportive assistance to prosecution witnesses, in all such cases.  Assistance in pursuing a variety of protection orders in both Municipal and Common Pleas Court, is also available.